In Sickness…

Bengali roots and past experiences with ill health have left S with just a touch of hypochondria. I knew this when I married him, and I found it kind of endearing.

But that was before he started stealing my thunder.

I started to notice that when I complained of an ailment, my husband’s automatic reaction would be one of empathy – because he too magically had the same ailment.

For example:

Me: I have a headache.

S: Me too.

Even when S was unable to generate the malaise at the same time as me, he would display his empathy by referring to a past experience with the stated problem. He wanted me to know that he knew exactly how I was feeling.

For example:

Me: I’m having a dizzy spell.

S: Remember when I was having dizzy spells 3 months ago?

Gradually, our mutual afflictions became a subtle contest over who was feeling worse at any given point of time or who was numero uno in the race to voice their complaint.

For example:

Me: My throat hurts.

S: Mine too.

Me: But I said it first!

There are no winners here.

One of the few areas where we could not compete, was the realm of menstruation cramps. This remains the one arena where I dance alone, wielding my exclusively female problem like a fittingly blood-stained sword. At these times, S bows out, ever-gracious in defeat.

Our joint sufferings have even amazed and amused a plethora of family doctors.

We recently visited our ENT because I had been suffering attacks of vertigo.

Me: So doc, I’ve been having these bouts of vertigo. It happened to me the first time last week.

Doc (gazing disinterestedly into my ear): Any other symptoms? Ringing in the ears? Headaches?

Me: No, not really.

Doc: It is a disorder of the inner ear. There is no known cause really, it can happen to anyone.

Shaunak: I had the same feeling you know. Some months ago.

Doc (ignoring this irrelevant chime-in and continuing to address me): You’ll have to be on medication regularly and taper it off over the course of the next few weeks. And it can recur anytime anywhere, so always carry a strip of the medicine with you.

Shaunak (not giving up): But isn’t it strange? That I had the same thing a few months ago?

Doc (drily): It’s not contagious, if that’s what you’re suggesting. You did not give your wife vertigo.

With that, S mercifully lapsed into a somewhat injured silence and I was free to hog the doctor’s attention.

Before we were married, I saw myself and S exploring the world together. Now, with each passing year, I see that this expedition includes the world of myriad illnesses.

Until death parts us. If that.

Leave a comment